“We’re almost there and nowhere near it. All that matters is we’re going.”

Focusing on happiness and where to find it has brought me to a weird revelation. I thought that I would have to find it somewhere. I checked out books at the library. I considered trying to find a new meditation method. I was really lost on where to find this happiness I was searching for in order to come up with a new, cleaver blog post. This weekend our church held a conference for the churches in our area, called a Stake Conference. My husband and I attended a talk focused toward Native American’s. The talk about given by a member of the Seventy (really important church guy) named Eldee Echo Hawk, a Pawnee tribal member. My husband is a member of the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma and so I try to pay special attention to NA (Native American) facts for our future children if/when they show up so I can later educate them. Anyway, Elder Echo Hawk spoke of a General Conference (a conference for the entire church given twice a year) talk given by Elder Wildord W. Anderson of the seventy titled The Music of the Gospel.  

There’s a really neat video you might enjoy inspired by the talk.

Basically, the talk is about listening for the music of the gospel, which is to say listening for the Holy Ghost. And once you hear the music, you follow with the dance steps which is the instructions given by the Holy Ghost. By listening for the music and participating in the dance, Elder Anderson assures us that we will find true joy and happiness. 

I had to laugh at myself. Of course happiness would be right under my nose! I was looking everywhere else and in all of the weird places for it when I had already been surrounded by it. 

I don’t know if it’s because of my autism, but whenever I get really upset about something, I lose focus. Autism has its ups but the downs can be losing focus. I get into a funk sometimes and it causes me to lose focus of my testimony of the Gospel. 

So, what I’m trying to say is that I have to go back to my roots in order to find my happiness. I was recently given a gift by my wonderful and artistic aunt. It was an art piece that had the quote “love your you” on it. That reminded me to go back to my roots. What do I love? I love animals, family, church, friends, and so many things. I need to focus on what I already know. Keeping my focus on the things I know will surely reveal the path I am supposed to take in life. 

Leave a Reply

